1,300 NPP delegates vote in La Dade-Kotopon parliamentary primary

Spread the love

1,300 NPP delegates vote in La Dade-Kotopon parliamentary primary

approximately 1,300 delegates of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the La Dade-Kotopon Constituency are exercising their democratic rights in a parliamentary primary to nominate their candidate for the upcoming December 7 election.

The primary pits Joseph Addo, renowned as President Akufo-Addo’s personal driver, against Solomon Kotey Nikoi, the esteemed Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for the area, presenting party members with a significant choice for representation.

This April 27 primary follows the resignation of Dr. Gerald Joseph Tetteh, the previously elected parliamentary candidate, who cited personal reasons for stepping down. The National Executive Committee (NEC), the highest decision-making body of the party, granted clearance for this primary in response to Dr. Tetteh’s resignation, thereby necessitating the selection of a new candidate.

Originally scheduled for January 27, this primary was rescheduled along with others by the party. In a press release dated April 19, 2024, the NPP announced the decisions of the NEC regarding various constituencies’ primaries. For La Dade-Kotopon, nominations were reopened due to Dr. Tetteh’s resignation, paving the way for today’s crucial vote.

The press release also outlined similar adjustments for other constituencies, including Akan Constituency, Agona West Constituency, and Ejisu Constituency, reflecting the party’s commitment to transparent and fair candidate selection processes.

As delegates cast their votes today, the NPP remains dedicated to upholding democratic principles and ensuring that the constituents of La Dade-Kotopon have a duly elected representative who will effectively serve their interests.

Power outages negatively impacting businesses, tackle the problem immediately – GUTA


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *